Fat

Overweight

Husky

Big-boned

So many innocuous phrases

To hide the horror of what I am

The extra padding around my middle

My arms

My ass

All define me before anything else

Determines my health

Work ethic

Personality

Before anyone has to make an effort

To peer under the blubber

Almost no one sees the artist

The poet

The bleeding heart

All because it is much easier to attach a label

Than attempt to see the real me

I am called lazy

Shiftless

Out of control

Even though I see the beauty in the darkness

But no one wants to see my shine

My intelligence

My forgiveness

Society dares not forgive me

For something as simple as the width of my stomach

In a world that idolizes tiny bodies and hearts

Leave a Reply

